Select Page

Matej Chabera (1982) is an award-winning czech designer and creative director. Since 2009 his studio works internationally with various clients and companies. His work includes visual identity, products, industrial design, functional objects and furniture. He has more than 80 products in production. Matej studied art history, psychology and philosophy at the Charles University in Prague, design at the Gerrit Rietveld Academy in Amsterdam and he is the first czech to graduate from the Design Products department at the Royal College of Art in London. Matej had more than 60 exhibitions since 2009 and his work earned him four international awards and eight nominations. He received the Good Design Award from the Chicago Museum of Architecture and Design together with Martin Žampach for the designs of SIMAX products. From 2010 till 2014 Matej was the creative director of LUGI furniture maker. 

His work is represented in the permanent collection of the Design Museum in Gent, Belgium. In 2014 and 2015 he was a visiting professor at the Academy of Arts and Design in Prague collaborating with Eva Eisler and he worked with Herman Miller in the UK on the Shelf of Tables concept. Since 2016 he is leading the Object Design and Real Design courses at the NCSU Prague Institute. He teaches methods based on the thinking-making balance and on personal growth that enrich students with a fluent blend of skills, conceptual thought, and business or career strategy. His students have shown great career launches and won numerous awards. Together with Jakub Korous he leads Lomeno, a multidisciplinary design studio based in Prague. In 2017 Matej won the Red Dot Design Award together with Jakub Korous for the Primeros brand redesign.

collaboration & special thanks
Milan Chabera, Jakub Korous, Mireia Gordi i Vila, Martin Žampach, Michal Peřina, Lucie Koldová, Eva Eisler, Herman Miller, LUGI, SIMAX Kavalierglass, Royal College of Art, North Carolina State University, Primeros, Rietveld Academie Amsterdam, Design Academy Eindhoven, UMPRUM, Filip Šlapal, Jaroslav Kvíz, André Klauser, Ben Wilson, Sir Kenneth Grange, Tord Boontje, Willem van Seumeren